Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Sunday, April 25th:  Today I cycled from Kamiah, Idaho to Lolo Montana.  A total of 141 miles.  Feels like I had a workout today.  Last night before going to bed took a picture of another nice sunset.  The sunset with the silhouette of the hills and trees is quite the site.  Shortly after leaving the campground I saw a sign that warned of winding roads for the next 99 mile.  I didn’t think they were too bad.  I wonder what Judy thought?  Had scattered showers today.  I think I found almost all of the scatters.  Lucky they didn’t last for more than about 5 milles at a time.    Saw some unique hillsides today.  It’s funny how you cross from one state to another and you can almost immediately see drastic changes of landscape.  Passed by a runner today who was pushing a stroller.  We had seen him earlier in our trip.  Once in the Lewiston area and also while we were camped in Kamiah.  I stopped to talk with him.  Asked if he was hungry and he said “Yes, I am always hungry.”  Judy was parked just up the road waiting for me with sandwiches so we offered him some also.  His name is Bjorn and he is from Sweden.  His stroller carries all his supplies.  He is running from Westport, Washington to Tybee Island, Georgia.  He runs 33 miles a day and mostly camps in hotels.  I have been seeing the river for sometime now and there are quite a few rapids along it.  Saw some kayakers going down the rapids.  Looks like fun.  Maybe another vacation?  They ride the rapids along the Lochsa River and the usual ride is about 9 miles.  One kayaker told me that people from all over the world come here to ride the rapids.  And for all my Postal friends…being a retired mail carrier I could not resist this sign.  There is actually a Post Officed Creek.  Saw the creek, but looked all around and could not see any post office.  Oh well, mail my postcards later.  Did get to see quite a bit of wildlife today.  This one deer actually stopped in the middle of the road and gave me that ‘deer in the headlights’ look.  As soon as my camera clicked, he dashed into the woods.  And what is that I see across the river?  SNOW!  I was hoping I wasn’t going to see much of that on this ride.  It’s getting cold up here!  Entered Montana,  Saw signs of Wecome to Idaho, Welcome to Montana, Entering Mountain Time Zone and I know I crossed the Continental Divide but I never saw the sign.  Saw a group of Llamas relaxing in the sun.  They have their fur coats on.  Also saw quite a few elk.  (Sorry I had to take their picture on the run and it’s kinda blurry!)  All in all a good days ride.  Tomorrow we will go to Missoula and visit the Adventure Cycling Office.  That is where I got my maps from.  So until then…Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy      http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

