Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Monday, May 10th, Today I cycled 62 miles from Beach, ND to Dickinson, ND.  The morning was cold, but a very nice day non-the-less.  One of the first sights I encountered today was the words “HOME ON THE RANGE” written on the hillsides.  I was singing that song in my head for miles afterwards.  The terrain in North Dakota is quite different than what I have seen in Montana.  Took a side trip through Theodore Roosevelt National Park.  I was advised that because of the wildlife that it would not be a good idea to ride my bike through there, so I put my bike in the motorhome and we drove through the park.  The first sign we saw gave me a clue as to why I should not be riding my bike.  The first sign of wild life were prairie dogs popping up out of the ground everywhere.  They didn’t look that threatening.  Was able to get a nice view of the Bad Lands.  Looks like pretty rough terrain.  Then we saw what we were looking for…Bison!  There were quite a few herds of them.  They don’t act very aggressive.  We spotted a few calves in some of the herds.  In fact, they don’t even try to get off the road when you drive right up on them.  Also saw quite a few wild horses.  They had some young colts with them also.  Really enjoyed seeing all the wild life.  Afterwards, we went into the city of Medora and had lunch at Boots Bar & Grill.  I had the Elk Burger and Judy had Walleye Fish.  Both very good.  We then stopped at the Hitching Post and picked up some postcards.  After a nice visit with the people that worked there, we prepared to continue our journey.  The rest of the way into Dickinson was mostly uphill with a moderate headwind.  Just as we arrived in Dickinson, Kip Jas, the brother of Kim Schultz from my bicycle club, called me and said he would like to meet up with me.  I told him where we were and he said he would meet up with us.  In the meantime, we checked into the North Park RV Park.  After filling out all the paperwork, and asking me about my mission, he informed me that there would be no charge for our stay.  He said that would be his donation to our cause.  Shortly after getting set up at our camp site, Kip showed up and offered to take us out to dinner.  He took us to the Dickinson Elks Lodge #1137.  Their lodge is very nice and the food was excellent.  After dinner we went to his home and met his wife Christie and their family.  They allowed us to do laundry at their home and we had a very pleasant and entertaining conversation.  Would enjoy visiting with them again if we ever come by this way again.  Looking for another good ride tomorrow, so until then…Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy      http://www.jacobsonexpresss.com

Leave a Reply

