Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, May 14th:  This is the end of my 7th week of cycling 10,000 miles around the USA to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Today’s ride was 123 miles from Bismarck, North Dakota to Selby, South Dakota.  My total mileage for this week is 400 miles giving me a 7 week total of 2840 miles.  This morning the skies were clear and the temperature was a relatively warm 40 degrees.  Within the first 20 miles it was already starting to warm up so I removed one of my windbreakers.  After 25 miles of a nice tailwind on the I-94, it was time to head south on US Hwy 83.  Hwy 83 turned out to have quite a few good size rollies (mostly uphill) and a wind that kept getting stronger coming from the west and south.  Hwy 83 has a lot less traffic and only 2 lanes.  One in each direction.  The traffic that does come by almost always gives me a lot of room as they pass, usually passing in the other lane.  Before long the temperature was getting into the 70’s and it was time to take off my cold weather jersey, change the  long finger gloves for short finger glove and remove the toe covers from my shoes.  There are a lot of lakes along Hwy 83.  A lot of them are a shimmering royal blue.  The majority of this portion of Hwy 83 is called the “Lawrence Welk Highway.  How many of you remember the Lawrence Welk Show?  I passed by the road that takes you to the birthplace of Lawrence Welk.  Seeing that it was a dirt road and that they don’t open until Memorial weekend, decided not to take that road.  In one of the lakes I passed by I noticed a turtle basking in the warm sun.  I took his picture from the road, and hoping to get a closer shot, took a step closer to the lake and he immediately dove into the water and out of sight.  After 90 miles of cycling, finally crossed the border into South Dakota.  When we reached Selby, SD we decided to call it quits for the day and start out for another ride in the morning.  So until then . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – -Wes & Judy       http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

