Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Wednesday, May 19th:  Tonight I am catching up on my blogs.  Monday and Tuesday blogs are posted below.  This morning we got the motorhome ready for another day.  On the way out I put a donation in the mailbox as I left the RV campground.  Decided to head west on Nebraska Hwy 12 to see Smith Falls.  Hwy 12 is also known as “Outlaw Trail”.  That is because around the turn of the century (1900) and earlier, the outlaws would use that trail to steal horses and cattle.  It was not very populated at that time and the thieves could go up and down that trail without being noticed.  There were a couple of nice lakes on both side of the road.  About 30 miles down the road we found the turn-off to Smith Falls.  It is located on the Niobrara River.  We had to go about 4 miles on a gravel road to get to the Falls area.  The road was not made for my skinny tires, so I got in the RV and Judy drove us down to the Falls.  Once we got there we had to walk down some stairs and follow a pathway that led over a bridge crossing the Niobrara River and then follow a wooden pathway until we got to the falls.  It was a very scenic walk and the falls were impressive.  After our tour of the Smith Falls, we had lunch and continued west to Valentine, NE.  There has been a strong tailwind all day that has made today’s ride, even the hills, a very easy ride.  Now, 10 miles before Valentine, it has started to rain.  It is not a very hard rain; just enough to get everything wet.  Arrived in Valentine and asked if there was a bike shop in town.  I was directed to Yucca Dune Outdoor Adventures, located at 148 E. 1st St in Valentine.  It happened to be just around the corner.  I needed to go to a bike shop because when I arrived in Springview, Judy asked me how my chain was.  I told her I just had it replaced, but I checked it anyways and found out that it was overly stretched out and badly needed replacing.  I checked the calendar and added up my mileage and saw that it had been over 1900 miles since I last changed my chain.  (They recommend changing them every 1,000 to 1,500 miles.)  He gave me a good price on the chain and installed in for no charge.  We will stay in Valentine for the night and head south in the morning.  Until then . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – -Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

