Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, June 8th:  On Saturday, I rode my bike to Arnold.  On the way there I passed by a farm where they were rolling hay into round bales.  You can see a lot of hay bales like this on many of the farms.  When I arrived in Arnold there was a gathering of vintage cars that had arrived for breakfast.  They started from Kearney this morning and will be traveling 600 miles through the state of Nebraska.  Before leaving Arnold, I met a couple, Casey and Amanda who had cycled from Gothenburg and were taking a break before returning to Gothenburg.  I haven’t seen many cyclists since being in the area.  Tomorrow starts the Bicycle Ride Across Nebraska (BRAN).  There should be over 500 cyclists on that ride.  From Arnold, I continued my ride to Merna, and then to Broken Bow, stopping at Subway for lunch.  From Broken Bow I cycled to Oconto and then back to Callaway giving me a 98 mile ride.  Passed by more corn fields today.  I am trying to take at least one picture of a corn field on every ride to show how fast they grow.  It seems I can see the difference even after one day.  After showering, Judy and I went back to Oconto for their annual Oconto Volunteer Fire Department Blowin’ the Doors Off Barbeque Fundraiser.  Admission is $10.00 for adults and gets you all the food you can eat.  They had 3 bands performing and we had a good time meeting people and dancing the night away.  On Sunday, our friends John and Joellen said they were burning cedar trees and that we should come over for a BBQ.  After the fires had died down they scooped up some of the hot ashes, put together a make-shift grill and cooked hamburgers and hot dogs.  On Monday, we drove the motor home to Broken Bow and had the recall part for the refrigerator fixed.  We returned to Callaway in time for lunch and the rest of the evening I spent doing laundry.  Had another storm during the night, but it wasn’t as bad as they predicted.  The storm kept us up most of the night so today, Tuesday, we stayed around town and visited with friends at Jo’s Café.  Hope to get a few more miles of cycling in this week.  Until then . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy   

http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

