Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, July 2nd:  This morning I started my ride from the southeast edge of Des Moines on Hwy 5.  In about 3 miles I came across about a dozen planters with bicycles growing out of them.  Is that legal?  Actually it was a small park and parking lot at the starting point of a bicycle path called Summerset Trail and two nice young ladies, Kristi Steil and Susan Matthews told me that it will take you south about 12 miles toward Indianola, IA.  I began to tell them about my ride and one of them asked me if I was the cyclist from California that she had heard about from a friend.

.  It surprises me and makes me feel good when I hear that news of my ride is getting national attention.  I was heading east, so after getting their picture and a nice hug, I was on my way.  Another 2 miles down the road and there was a detour sign.  It seems the road ahead was flooded because of the high water level from the Des Moines River.  After I turned on the detour road, I saw a the side of a barn with a “happy face” on it.  It reminded me that even though I hade to take a detour from my planned route, that I can still be happy as I ride my bike enjoying all the sights I have never seen before.  I had to go south about 3 1/2 miles before heading east and then north back to Hwy 5.  There was also a lot of deep water in the fields on the side of the highway.  Today is the end of my 14th week of cycling 10,000 miles around the United States for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  This week I cycled 241 miles giving me a 14 week cycling total of 4,229 miles.  By going to my website you can read my blog, view my pictures, see where I am via live satellite GPS and donate to our effort and/or the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Tomorrow begins my 15th week and we will be heading towards Fairfield, IA, then to Burlington, IA to see to see Snake Alley,  a street that “Ripley’s Believe It Or Not” calls the “crookedest street in the world”.  From there we will head north to Muskatine before leaving Iowa and crossing the Mississippi River into Illinois.  Until then, Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – – Wes & Judy      http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

