Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, July 9th:  Today was a short ride compared to the last few days.  Not uneventful, though.  I have had quite a few miles of flat roads, but now I am into some good hard rolling hills.  About 28 miles into the ride I am climbing this nice hill when all of a sudden “SNAP” The derailleur bracket broke and my derailleur went into the spokes of my wheel.  I stopped immediately and gave Judy a call.  I told her I was at the top of a hill in a driveway.When she caught up with me she gave me heck because she said the driveway wasn’t big enough for her to park the motorhome.  I said “Yes Dear” and  switched bikes as I continued on my ride as Judy took off ahead of me.  A little farther up the road I saw her parked in a safer spot.  There was someone else parked there in a work truck.  I asked him if there was a bike shop close by and he said it was just a few more miles down the road.  He said his truck broke down going up that hill also.  Judy said she would wait there for her cousin Donna and her husband John Halpin who were driving there to meet her.   I cycled down to check out the bike shop.  I passed Judy’s cousin driving up in the opposite direction.  I told her where I was going and she continued on her way to meet Judy.  About 6 miles later I arrive at Century Cycles in Peninsula, Ohio.  I explained my problem, they said to bring the bike in.  I called Judy to have her drive down with my bike.  Doug Charnock, the sales manager and Derrick Kortvejesi, the mechanic got my bike in near new condition.  Replaced the derailleur bracket, new derailleur, new rear cog set and went over the entire bike getting it in top riding shape again.  Because I am doing this ride for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society they gave me a discount on the parts and no charge for the labor.  You can check out their website at www.centurycycles.com.  Later we found a Performance bike shop and I went there to pick up a couple of extra derailleur brackets.  John and Donna offered to pay for the bicycle repair as donation to our effort.  We will be spending the weekend at their very nice home in Hudson, Ohio.  Today finishes my 15th week of cycling 10,000 miles around the United States for the Team in Training Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Today’s ride was 34 miles, giving me a 15 week cycling total of 4,904 miles.  Tomorrow begins my 16th week, and until then . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy   http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

