Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, July 16th:  Got an early start on my ride today.  Good thing.  Judy told me it started to rain right after I left.  The rain never caught up with me though.  That was fortunate.  Went through the Village of LeRoy.  Jell-O was born there in 1897.  I picked up a brochure that asks some interesting questions.  Why did the inventor sell his rights to Jell-O for $450?  Who bought the rights to Jell-O and made millions of dollars?  Who eats the most Jell-O?  What’s the favorite flavor?  What happened to the Jell-O factory in LeRoy?  Who tested Jell-O for brain waves?  and what’s more intriguing – Why?  I don’t have the answers because they were not open when I rode by.  Maybe Google?  The walkway is made of bricks and they have a lot of names of people who worked for Jell-O along with other names, some of them famous, like Bill Cosby.  While in LeRoy I was intrigued by a sign indicating the “Actual Clearance” of an overpass.  I have never seen that before.

  As you can see, New York has a lot of lush green trees all along the road just like some of the previous states I have been in.  There are also a lot of farms where they grow a variety of fruits and vegetables including corn.  I have been getting quite a few rolling hills.  They don’t last very long, just long enough to let you know they are there.  Saw a real neat truck along the way.  A truck like that I am sure is not for sale…it’s priceless!  While riding through Geneva at the north end of Seneca Lake, I saw a sign advertinsing wine ice cream.  I have seen a lot of ice cream places and thought about stopping but didn’t.  But now, how could I pass up wine ice cream?  It was at Gifford’s Ice Cream Stand and I ordered the Peach Zinfandel.  I only got the 8 oz size because I wouldn’t want to get a ticket for drunk cycling!  I then continued my ride enjoying the scenerey along Seneca Lake.  By the time I finished for the day I had cycled 95 miles and we are camping out at Walmart in Auburn, NY.  This is the end of my 16th week of cycling around the United States for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  This week I cycled 396 miles giving me a 16 week cycling total of 5,290 miles.  Tomorrow begins my 17th week of cycling.  Remember that this is a charity ride and every mile I ride is to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy   http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

