Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, July 23rd:  Wednesday night we had some heavy rain with lightning and thunder.  Found out later that there were tornados in some neighboring towns.  Yesterday morning we continued our visit with Judy’s high school friend, DeAnn, until late morning.  I started my ride about 10:AM while Judy continued to visit for a while longer.  I passed by some areas where the trees were knocked down to the ground and had to detour around another area where the power lines were down and on the highway.  Didn’t see a whole lot of damage and didn’t hear of anyone getting hurt.  There was, however, a lot of debris along the roadways.  Passed by a Trolley Car Museum.   Some look like they are in very good condition and others look like they’ve been around for awhile.  Cycled through Kennebunkport, ME and got as close as they would let anyone to President Bush’s summer retreat.  Judy was not able to go there as the roads were not motorhome friendly.  A few more miles down the road and we stopped in the town of Ogunquit, ME and had fresh Maine Lobster at the Ogunquit Lobster Pound.  Continued cycling south on Hwy 1 through New Hampshire and then on into Massachusetts until, with 94 miles of cycling finished the days ride in Salisbury, MA after dark!  Somehow Judy was on a different road waiting for me to pass by.  I gave her the address of my location, but her GPS could not or would not find me.  She finally found somebody who was able to give her directions to my location.  After she picked me up we checked the maps and could not find a route heading west across Massachusetts that was bicycle friendly.   We decided to drive west 82 miles on Hwy 2 to Greenfield, MA where we spent the night waiting for this morning’s ride.

  I found my way to Hwy 2 West also known as Mohawk Trail, which is now bicycle friendly and began my ride.  Passed by a sign with a picture warning of moose standing on the road.  There have been quite a few Indian gift shops all along the side of the road.  Some of them put on pow-wows and dancing.  I have seen a river along side of me for awhile.  I know they do kayaking along the river but maybe not in this area.  Passed by an old red school house.  It’s been around for quite some time.  Then I saw a sign that said “Thickly Settled”.  Just beyond the sign were quite a few houses close together.  Just to let you know!  I am still on Hwy 2 crossing over the Mohawk Indian Bridge which crosses the Deerfield River.  They have a bust of a Mohawk Indian on both ends of the Mohawk Bridge.  After 28 miles I had been in the rain for a few miles and Judy was passing me by.  She pulled over and we decided I should just ride with her until the rain stops.  Soon we are entering New York again and arrive at the home of my sister, Sharon.  It had never stopped raining.  Today is the end of my 17th week of cycling 10,000 miles around the United States for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  This week I cycled 507 miles giving me a total of 5,797 miles.  At this point I have cycled about 400 miles more than I had planned to by this time.  I wonder how many miles I will cycle past 10,000 by the end of the ride?  To donate to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, visit my donation site at http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  It is time to take a break now and visit with family.  I will continue to blog and keep you updated.  Until then . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

