Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Sunday, August 1st:  I began my ride this morning in Port Jervis, NY.  A very short distance later I was cycling in the state of New Jersey.  The route I am taking today is on a lot of smaller back roads that are very scenic.  A majority of my ride today takes me along the Delaware Water Gap.  Along the way there was a couple who were standing next to their bikes.  I stopped to see if all was okay.  They were fine.  They were just resting, getting ready to go back up the road they just came down.  We chatted for awhile, finding out a little bit about each other.  They are Don and Judy Olson from Columbia, MD.  Don is a CPA and both Don and Judy enjoy riding their bikes.

  Continuing my ride I find a lot more scenic roads with lots of trees.  It’s like riding through a forest.  I have been following a stream for a while and finally cross over it as I ride into Millbrook Village.  Another 12 miles and I cross the Delaware River into Pennsylvania.  I cycle about 10 miles on the Pennsylvania side and cross the Delaware River again and I am back in New Jersey.  The first town I come to is Columbia and the rain is starting to come down.  I look for shelter and find a pop-up tent in a parking lot next to a rest home.  Someone is sitting under it so I ride up to join them.  It is one of the workers there.  A couple of other people come out to visit, including one of the residents, Frank, who is in remission from Lymphoma.  He is very thankful for what I am doing.  I feel very proud to be able to do it.  After a bit, the rain stops, we say our goodbye’s and I continue my ride.  I am supposed to meet Judy in Phillipsburg, NJ.  As I get close I see a tunnel that I know she didn’t go through.  I find out later that Judy spent most of her drive on the Pennsylvania side of the river through the Pocono Mountains.  Although she did have detours and one-lane road construction sites, there were no low bridges for her to go under.   I call her up and tell her I am at the Phillipsburg Mall.  She is at Walmart but says that they have no overnight parking there.  As she drives toward my location I ride into the mall parking lot and find a security guard.  I ask if it would be okay to park for the night, and he directed me to a spot on the side of the mall where there is not much traffic.  At the end of today’s ride I have cycled 76 miles.  I have finished another month of cycling 10,000 miles around the United States to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  As of today I have cycled 5,997 miles, completing 60% in my goal to cycle at least 10,000 miles.  I have so far raised $1,655.00 completing 17% in my goal to raise at least $10,000 for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can donate to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by visiting http://www/.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

