Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Monday, August 2nd:  Woke up to another beautiful day for a bicycle ride.  Left Phillipsburg and a few short miles later I was cycling on some beautiful back roads again.  I cycled quite a few miles along the river.  There were also quite a few signs warning of narrow bridges and roads.  Some of them with weight limits of 2.5 to 4 tons.  Judy would not have liked these roads.  I was also following along railroad tracks for quite a few miles.  I don’t think these railroad tracks have been used for quite some time as weeds were growing between the tracks.  Once in a while I even noticed small trees growing between the tracks.  The roads got even narrower in some areas.  Rail guards on one side and rocky hills on the other.  Barely enough room for a car and me a at the same time.  Starting to see a few deer.  If you look close in one of the pictures you can see a deer in the bushes on the right.  Later, just before entering a small town, saw a few small deer on the left side of the road.  They wanted to cross the road, but were cautious of the traffic.  Eventually one of them made a mad dash and succeeded in getting to the other side.  Why did the deer cross the road?  He wanted to get to the cornfield!  Actually, ever since I got to Nebraska I have seen cornfields in every state I have been in.  While cycling on SR 29, on my way to Stockton, I met another cyclist, Ira Friedman, and we rode together until he got to his car in Stockton.  I told him I would put his picture on my blog if he didn’t mind.  He said that would be ok, just don’t let his wife know he was having a good time.  So if she is reading this. He really wasn’t enjoying himself.  He was just out for the exercise.  I stopped in a small cafe in Stockton for a hamburger and continued on my ride.  A few miles later I was crossing a bridge over the river and was soon in Pennsylvania again.  I made a lot of turns for the next 30 miles.  None of farther than 3 miles apart and most of them a lot less than that.  The scenery was still very beautiful, but with a lot more traffic and no shoulder to ride on.

  Judy is waiting for me at a Walmart in Norristown, PA.  As for Judy’s experience, after leaving our parking spot, we drove to a nearby gas station to fill with gas.  It was on a divided highway and when she left the gas station she was headed in the opposite direction in which she wanted to go.  She ended up having to cross over a toll bridge that cost her $5.00!  She didn’t know where in the heck she was.  Looked up and saw a sign “Welcome to Hecktown”.  Then she got on Nazareth road toward Bethlehem and thought she was doing good, but she ended up in Hellertown.  Got caught up in a 5 mile traffic jam through a construction site.  She is thankful that the humidity is still relatively low.  I arrive at Walmart in Norristown, PA after cycling 75 miles and find Judy waiting for me.  She has only been there about 40 minutes.  It must have been a tougher ride for her than it was for me.  This ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society can be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

