Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, August 3rd:  Left Norristown this morning and after about 2 miles of cycling I entered the Schuyllkill bike trail.  The bike trail took me over the Schuyllkill River on a wooden bridge that I thought was pretty ricketty.  The boards felt loose and at times I was worried that I might fall through.  A few more miles and I was entering Valley Forge National Park.  The first thing I noticed was a monument dedicated to the only identified grave site at Valley Forge, Lt John Waterman.  They have an obelisk erected in his honor.  Right across the street is the Washington Memorial Chapel.  There are a lot of original old buildings still on display along with many other monuments.  In one area I could see a few deer grazing.  I got a picture of the one closest to me.  There was also a statue of MajGen  Fredrich Wilhelm  Baron Von Steuben.  Before leaving Valley Forge I was able to see George Washington’s Headquarters.  It’s not much by today’s standards, but I imagine it served it’s purpose in it’s time.

  Cycled through the town of St Peters.  A very quaint, historical town.  Continuing on my ride came across a road closure.  I attempted to continue riding through but there was so much construction that it was impossible.  I saw a mail delivery vehicle and got directions for a detour around the construction.  Saw something gliding across the road.  It was a black or dark gray snake.  It slid into the grass before I could get it’s picture.  If you look close at the next to the last picture, you might be able to make it out.  The skies are getting dark and I am getting into more farmlike areas.  Judy tells me that she has changed our destination point.  We were originally planned to meet in Mt Joy, PA, but she found a Walmart in Lancaster, PA.  I stopped for pizza along the way and got directions to where she was at.  It was only about 5 or 10 miles more than I thought I was going to ride in the first place, so it wasn’t much of a big deal.  After 85 miles of cycling I arrive at Walmart and say hello to Judy.  Judy told me that on her trip she saw a dealership in Salisbury, PA for 2-wheeled horse carts.  No picture for that . . . She can’t stop as easily as I can to take photos.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can donate to them by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.   Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com.

Leave a Reply

