Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Wednesday, August 4th:  We looked at the maps this morning, deciding where we would be meeting at for the end of the ride.  It is tough for Judy because she can’t go on a lot of the roads I go on and there are not a lot of places along the way to stop.  We finally decide to meet in Hereford, Maryland.  I get started on my ride, riding through the city.  Just outside of town I see this large tree reflecting in the pond.  I decide to take the picture, and on closer inspection find out that it is actually 2 trees.  Even for 2 trees, though, it is pretty good size.  After about 15 miles I enter the city of Columbia, PA.  As you can see I am on the West 462 Hwy.  If you notice that Orange Detour sign, it is one of the things that Judy doesn’t like to see.  They have different colors of detour signs, and you have to remember what color you are following to get to your destination.  I did, however, think that the buildings in the city were very interesting.  The Lincoln Highway is a road that Judy and I have both been traveling on, but not always at the same time or in the same area.  Crossed over the Susquehanna and Tidewater Canal.  They have two bridges in the area crossing over it.  An old bridge and a new bridge.  I crossed over on the old bridge.  It was fairly long but was definitely sturdy enough.  Later while cycling along the canal, I noticed a bay area where there were quite a few boats and a lighthouse.  I know the lighthouse is kind of small, but the boats aren’t very large either.  As you can see I am not out of the woods yet.  There is still a lot of trees on many of the roads I am traveling.  I have been seeing quite a few butterflies the last few days.  These two were enjoying the flowers too much to notice I was there so I was able to get a couple of nice snapshots.  Pretty soon I get to the top of one of the many hills I have climbed today, (and yesterday, and the day before . . .) and get a nice view of the landscape ahead.  This is now mostly farm area and there are a lot of Amish that live here.  I stopped at one of the many fruit and vegetable stands on the side of the road.  It was run by an Amish family.  I bought a small watermelon and ate almost the whole thing right there.  Judy has been calling me a few times asking me what is taking me so long.  She doesn’t understand that I have a lot of hills to climb, a lot of pictures to take,  and a lot of people to talk to along the way (a lot of times to confirm directions on how to follow my map.)  A little bit later I see a sign that reminds me of what this ride is all about.

  I now enter into the state of Maryland.  I am cycling on the Mason & Dixon Scenic Byway.  Even in Maryland there are still a lot of farm lands.  And yes I still get to cycle through the forest.  I am still on a Scenic Byway, but now they call it the Horses & Hounds Scenic Byway.  A short distance away I come to a clearing and I see Bambi.  Judy says you can tell it is a male deer because the spots are in a straight line.  After 75 miles of cycling I meet Judy in Hereford, MD.  From there we decide to drive into Cockeysville, MD to spend the night at Walmart.  While I am typing my blog it is raining with strong winds, thunder and lightning.  I am glad I am inside!  Tomorrow we will check into a RV campsite to clean up and do laundry.  I also plan on cycling into D.C. to check out the White House and whatever else I can find.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  To donate to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society you can visit http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.

Leave a Reply

