Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Saturday, August 7th:  Time to leave Cherry Hill Park.  A little more than a mile of cycling and I am already on a bike trail.  Part of the ride I am following along the Potomac River.  Not all of the bike trails are completely lined with trees, but you can almost always see more up ahead.  There are always signs along the road telling you when what happened.  Some signs even tell you when nothing happened.  After about 12 miles I arrive in Washington D.C.  They have a building called the Newseum.  I didn’t go inside, but on the outside they have the front page of all the major newspapers on display.  Some of the streets have special lanes for bicycles.  Sometimes they are in the left lane.  I got a nice picture of the Capital Building.  In front of the Capital Building is a statue of Grant on his horse.  I also got another nice picture of the Washington Monument.  This time it is in the daytime.  They are having a Boy Scout meeting on the lawn in front of it.  I then rode past a monument dedicated to the U.S. Army 2nd Division honoring the dead in the 1st  World War from 1917-1919.  Along the street not far from the White House they have a lot of street vendors all lined up.  One will be selling T-shirts and souveniers and the next one snacks.  The next one T-shirts and the next one snacks.  Etc, etc.  All exactly the same merchandise, alternating one after the other all down the street.  I then went to the Corcoran Gallery of Art.  This time I actually went inside.  I was told about a marble bust of a “Veiled Nun” and had to go check it out myself.  There were other artwork and statues on display as well, such as this wild bunch of cowboys and this scantily clad person playing with his bear.  There was also a staircase lined with marble statues on both sides.  I went by the Lincoln Memorial again.  I got a nice picture of Lincoln on my last post so I didn’t go all the way up this time.  I then get to the entryway to the bridge crossing the Potomac River.  The have statues on both sides of the street.  Here is a closeup of one of the statues.  I am now crossing the Potomac and can see another bridge down the river.  I have to ride on the sidewalk across the bridge as there is no bike lane on the road.  As I continue crossing the Potomac I can see the Washington Monument on the other side of the river.  I soon arrive in the town of Alexandria, VA.

  I see a bicycle sticking outside of a building.  I stop to take a picture and continue on my way.  As I do I see a young lady riding her bike from out of that building.  I ask her about it and find out that it is a do-it-yourself bicycle repair shop.  She invites me to go back to check it out.  It is called Velocity ( www.velocitycoop.org ) and is located at 204 S. Union St, Alexandria, VA.  The girl I talked to, Athena, and her partner Forest, run the place.  They do not sell bikes but will let you work on your bike, or build yourself a bike and will even give you help if you need it.  As you enter the shop there is a lot of artwork created from bicycle seats, handlebars, and other bicycle parts on display.  I soon leave Alexandria and I am back on the bicycle trails again.  I come to a clearing where I can see a major highway crossing the Potomac River.  Again, it is not long before I am back on the tree-lined bike trail again.  Ooops!  I have to detour off the bike path a little.  Seems this big-rig had a little problem and is blocking the bike path.  I cycle past Mt Vernon and soon I am on Hwy 235.  It is known as the “Washington-Rochambeau Route.  I don’t know which is better, cycling 60 miles in one day or riding a horse 60 miles in one day.  Poor horse!  After 54 miles of cycling I meet with Judy at Walmart in Woodridge, VA.  Some friends of ours have a son who is stationed in the Navy close by.  His name is Marshall and his wife is Brandy.  They rode their 1300 CC Honda Motorcycle down to meet us.  I couldn’t talk him into trading.  Marshall used to be stationed on a submarine as a cook and now is a cook at the Pentagon.  He is hoping to go to Seal Training soon.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and donations can be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

