Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Sunday, August 8th:  My ride started out this morning on city streets.  Today I am heading south on Highway 1.  After about 10 miles I am near the Quantico Marine Corps Base.  There is a replica of the Iwo Jima Memorial by the entrance.  Just a short distance down the road is the entrance to the National Museum of the Marine Corps.  I take a quick right and cycle up there to check it out.  In front of the building is a statue of Iron Mike.  He is dedicated to the memory of the 5th and 6th Regiments and the 6th Machine Gun Battalion of the United States Marine Corps in the World War of 1918.  Inside the building is a Marine in his dress blues holding the Marine Corps Flag.  There are also displays of Marines engaged in battle including vehicles such as the Amphibious Assault Vehicle, Tank, and a pre-WWI army truck.  There are numerous displays of military weapons.  Aircraft is also displayed and is hanging from the ceiling.  The Marine Corps emblem is the Eagle, Globe and Anchor signifying the three areas that the Marine Corps can engage the battle on.  Air, Land and Sea.  And every Marine knows the saying:  “Once a Marine, always a Marine”.  After leaving the museum I am back on Hwy 1 which is also known as Jefferson Davis Hwy.

  I am soon back on roads that are lined with trees.  It won’t be like this all day this time.  After only a couple miles the trees clear up and I start getting into populated areas.  It was interesting to read about how an Indian path progressed to become a major highway.  After about 45 miles I found a spot for lunch.  I called Judy to meet me there.  She is only about 10 miles behind me.  We didn’t actually eat there.     The building was condemned and boarded up.  We just parked there because it was a wide spot in the road and had our peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  After luch I continued on Hwy 1 which is soon joined by Hwy 301.  I cross a bridge over a river and I am soon entering Richmond, VA.  Richmond is a very large city and takes me a while to cycle through it.  Eventually I get to another bridge over a river and I am entering Petersburg, VA.  It is still a fairly good size town but not nearly as large as Richmond.  Hwy 1 and Hwy 301 separate and I follow Hwy 301 and after 113 miles of cycling I meet Judy on the south end of Petersburg, VA at a Walmart.  We will have dinner at Subway and stay here for the night.  Remember that this ride is to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  All donations can be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

