Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Monday, August 9th:  Before starting my ride this morning we decide I would cycle to Rocky Mount, NC.  I continue my ride on US Hwy 301.  After about 3 miles I come across a sign that says 94 miles to Rocky Mount.  At this point there are still a lot of trees all along the road.  Sometimes there are also open spaces and farm land.  For most of the ride today I am following alongside Interstate 95.   I pass by Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park and wonder if Yogi or Boo-Boo is there.  I didn’t bring my picnic basket so they probably won’t come out to visit.  There have been signs all along the highway indicating that this is a Blue Star Memorial Highway in memory of those who served in World War II.

  After almost 50 miles of cycling I cross over into the state of North Carolina.  I still see a lot of green trees, but now there are also a lot of trees with burgundy blossoms on them.  I meet up with Judy at mile 65 to take a quick break.  Before I start up again someone comes to the motorhome to ask about our ride.  His name is Armando Betancur.  He is very interested in our ride and also gives us a lot of useful information including a reminder that the Corporate Office of Performance Bicycles, of which I am riding, is not too far away in Chapel Hill, N.C.   After 96 miles of cycling I meet Judy at the Walmart parking lot in Rocky Mount, NC.  At this point we decide to drive to Chapel Hill to check out Performance Bicycles.  When I get to the bike shop there, I buy a new water bottle cage to replace one that broke a couple of days ago.  Tomorrow we will check out the Corporate Office and see what is there.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Donations can be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.   Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

