Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, August 10th:  We got up early this morning and drove from the parking lot of the Performance Bicycle Shop in Chapel Hill and arrived at the Corporate Office of Performance Bicycles also in Chapel Hill, arriving there a little after 8:00AM.  We talked with the receptionist, Alicia, while we were waiting and and she seemed very interested in our ride.  After a short wait, the Public Relations Manager, Bo Peele, came out to talk with us.  We told him about our ride for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and that I was riding one of their bikes, the Scattante Elite, for the vast majority of this ride.  I told him that since I was this close to the Performance headquarters, and I was riding their bike, I had to stop in and pay a visit.  He was impressed with our efforts, and although he couldn’t offer any sponsorship or donations for the company due to economic situations, he did wish us a safe journey and we left with a smile and a handshake.  In the picture I am standing with Bo next to a new Scattante Race Edition.  Probably won’t be my next bike though, as my passion leans more towards touring.  It was after 9:00AM by the time we left.  We drove back to Hwy 301, but a little further south in Smithfield, NC.  From there I began my ride around 11:00AM.  Since we got a late start, we stopped at McDonalds after 12 miles in Benson, NC.  I continued my ride after lunch while Judy gave me a head start.  Another 15 miles of cycling and I see a sign that says over-height vehicles detour here.  I call Judy and she decides to take the Interstate while I stay on Hwy 301.

 I mentioned yesterday that there is a lot of farmland along the highway.  The first 2 crops you see are cotton, the next one is soybean, and then tobacco.  I have two pictures of them harvesting tobacco.  In the first one there are two harvesting machines and a flatbed trailer where they are stacking the tobacco leaves.  The second picture is just one machine and a few workers helping to get the job done.  Now I have mentioned before that I have seen corn fields ever since I arrived in Nebraska.  There are still corn fields in North Carolina, but they look all dried up.  I feel bad for the corn farmers.  I cross over a bridge where there is a stream that has a small dam.  There are quite a few trees growing in the water beyond the dam.  Towards the end of my ride the Business I-95 joins with Hwy 301 and I continue following for a number of miles.  I call Judy to see where she is and she is at a Walmart in Fayetteville, NC on Hwy 401.  From where I am I need to continue to Hwy 24 and head west.  I then need to go north on Hwy 401 for what seemed like 4 or 5 miles until, after 50 miles of cycling I arrive at the Walmart and meet with Judy.  We will try to get an early start tomorrow so we can put in a few more miles.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Donations can be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

