Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Wednesday, August 11th:  Left Fayetteville. NC this morning continuing on US Hwy 401 to get back to US Hwy 301 South.  Hwy 401 has no shoulder or bike lane to ride on and the drivers don’t seem to want to give an inch.  Definitely the scariest 4 1/2 miles of road I have travelled on yet.  Once I am back on Hwy 301 things are pretty much back to normal.  Mostly the same scenery as yesterday.  At one point the Business I-95 joins with 301 South and I am on both at the same time.  Somewhere along the route, I-95 leaves and I am on Hwy 301 until (poof!) I am on small town roads with no highway signs.  I approach a couple who are getting into their car to ask directions.  They tell me I am way off course of Hwy 301 and give me directions.  After a pleasant conversation, I headed in the direction they suggested.  A short distance later they drive past me yelling for me to follow them.  I follow them until we get back to Hwy 301 and I-95 combined.  They wished me well and I cycled on my way.  I am sorry I didn’t get their name, but if they are reading this, I hope that from this day forward only good things and good people come their way.  Judy passes me a short time later, and when Hwy 301 leaves the I-95 towards Dillon, Judy is waiting for me on the off-ramp with lunch.  After about 12 miles I can see what looks like an amusement center ahead.  It is just after crossing the South Carolina State Line.  There is a water tower with the initials “S.O.B.” written on it.  It stands for “South of the Border”.  It is a typical touristy type area with T-shirt vendors, food, and amusement rides.  I took a picture of Pedro welcoming us to South of the Border and continued my ride.

  I have been hesitant in taking more pictures of trees and vegetation as I have been doing quite a bit of that.  However, there were some trees I thought were different.  They were completely covered with vines and I had to stand there for awhile trying to make out the different shapes, the same as some people do with clouds.  Further down the road they were loading up tree trunks onto big trucks.  I have seen quite a few log trucks along the highway, and I watched as they loaded a few of the logs onto the trucks with cranes.  As I was leaving the area a couple of the workers asked me how far I was going.  I stopped and told them all about my ride, how far I have gone, and how much farther I have to go.    I get one final picture of a log truck fully loaded going down the highway.  Judy called me to tell me how to get to the Walmart where she is at.  I arrive at the intersection where Hwy 301 turns to the left.  I stop in a convenience store to find out whether to go straight or turn left.  After talking about my ride I am told I should continue on Hwy 301 for 3 lights and turn right for about a mile.  I continue on my ride, and in about a mile a car pulls off the road in front of me and the driver jumps out of his car and says “You must be the guy”.  He said he works at the store I just left and heard about my ride.  He had to come out and meet me to find out about it for himself.  After 102 miles of cycling I arrive in Florence, SC and meet Judy at Walmart.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  All donations can be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

