Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Thursday, August 12th:  As I begin my bicycle ride today, I am on the US 52/US301 Highways.  After a few miles Highway 301 goes to the right and I follow it along tree lined roads again.  For quite a few days now I have noticed that the type of housing can vary drastically from one house to the other even in the same neighborhoods.  The three houses pictured here, for example, are all within the same block.  There are a lot of areas back home where you wouldn’t be able to do that.  Cycled past some more corn that looks all dried out.  I see two men, Ernest Cooper and Roberth Smith, working along side the road and decide to ask them about the corn.  They tell me that when the corn is brown like that it is “money in the bank”.  Evidently this corn is used to make fuel and when it turns brown it is time for harvesting.  We talk about my ride and they say that I must stop in Manning, SC and see the “Man in Time”.  I am not sure what to expect, and when I get there I find out it is the local newspaper, The Manning Times.  I go inside and I am greeted by Jason Lesley who is eager to hear about my ride that I am doing for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  One of the girls that works there, Leigh Ann Maynard, asks to be in the picture with me as she has a family member who is currently suffering from cancer.    Jason took a picture of Leigh Ann and me, and will email a copy of the article to me when it is published.

  A bit further down the road I get to Lake Marion where the I-95 and Hwy 301 cross over.  They do not allow bikes on the bridge, but because of some good information I received earlier I find an old bridge that is closed to traffic that I am able to cross over on.  Off to my left I can see the I-95 which is the road Judy will have to drive over.  On my right I get a great view of Lake Marion.  It is very large and is also very scenic.  The road ahead looks like it might be a dirt road, but when I actually get to it I find it is rock and asphalt with grass growing in the cracks.  So now we have two bridges crossing the lake.  My bridge with no traffic, and Judy’s bridge with all the cars and semi’s.  I get to the other side first, but before long Judy passes me by on her way to our next Walmart.  I pass by an old building that used to be a small auto parts store.  It must be a really old building judging by the car that is hoisted up high.  After 96 miles of cycling I arrive at Walmart in Orangeburg, SC, our destination for the night.  No sooner had I entered the motorhome than I heard our doorbell ring.  (Yes, we have a doorbell!)  A young lady by the name of Vicki Irick noticed me as I was riding up to the motorhome.  She said her grandfather had died from Leukemia and would like to make a donation.  We will add her donation to any others we receive and submit it at the end of the month.  You may make a donation to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

