Hello Fans Friends and Family

Sunday, August 15th:  Start my ride out on a warm, cloudy day with quite a bit of humidity.  A lot of the scenery today is the same as it has been for awhile.  A lot of trees along the highway.  We are very close to the Okefenokee Swamps.  There is also a lot of water alongside the highway.  In one area I saw quite a few lily pads in bloom.  After about 40 miles it starts to rain.  I call Judy and she is right behind me.  She pulls off the side of the road and we decide this is a good time to have lunch.  By the time we finish lunch, the rain has stopped and I continue my ride.

  I cross over into the state of Florida and a short time I find a place for Judy to park.  I wait for her to catch up, take a short break and continue my ride.  Up ahead is a weigh station and agricultural check.  The sign says all truck, pickups, trailers, vans must exit here.  I decide to check and see if that means motorhomes also.  They say no, that she can just drive on past.  While I am there, Judy calls me and tells me it is pouring rain where she is parked.  I tell her it’s not raining where I am, but then, all of a sudden it starts coming down.  Judy pulls into the weigh station and finds me still there.  They let her know where to park while I try to wait out the rain.  They check out the weather radar for me and say it is a fast moving storm and should pass through quickly.  After quite a wait, it is still raining and is now thundering also.  It is only about 6 miles from our destination, so after 64 miles of cycling I put my bicycle in the motorhome and we drive the last 6 miles to Kelly’s Countryside RV Park in Callahan, Florida.  We will use our time here to do our laundry and get cleaned up.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You may donate by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time – – – Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

