Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, August 17th:  I began my ride from Starke, FL at 7:30AM this morning.  Along the way I passed through the town of Waldo, FL.  I now understand why they ask the question “Where’s Waldo?”  I had no sooner entered the town of Waldo before Waldo was in my rear view mirror.  I have been noticing signs for quite a few miles now advertising “The Orange Shop”.  After 33 miles I get to a sign telling me only 4 more miles to go.  I haven’t seen Judy yet, so I call to let her know I plan on stopping there.  She is just starting out, so I will get there before she does.  At 37 miles, I arrive at “The Orange Shop” and it is “Closed For The Season”.  It would have been nice if they would have put their closed notice on all the previous signs instead of making me wait until I got there!  I call Judy and let her know.  She has now driven about 16 miles and should catch me soon.   I continue my ride and after about 47 miles of cycling she passes me and pulls off the road a short ways ahead for us to have lunch.  I take a short break after lunch and continue my ride.

  Along side the road they have a machine that is making sawdust out of the trees.  The roads today have varied from no shoulder to ride on, up to a 4 foot shoulder and sometimes a designated bike lane.  At one point I came across some major road construction.  That was pretty tricky at times.  Most of the ride today has been a little cooler and less humid than it has been the last few days.  It is just beginning to rain as I arrive to meet Judy at Walmart in Bushnell, FL after 98 miles of cycling.  What great timing.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You may donate by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . .  Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress

Leave a Reply

