Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Thursday, August 19th:  Started my ride this morning at 6:30AM.  The sun was almost ready to rise, but it was still dark outside.  Within 4 miles it was getting light enough to see and be seen.  I left a little early today as I am scheduled to meet with some cyclists from the Peace River Riders at 9:00AM in Arcadia, FL and I always like to be early.  Along the way I pass a fenced in area with a sign warning not to feed the alligators.  I wonder if I will see any alligators during my stay?  After 27 miles of cycling I arrive at 8:30 and even Judy isn’t even there yet!  Soon I was met by Scott and Court on my left and Mike and Bill on my right.  Judy arrives a short time late and the five of us line up ready to ride.  We will be riding to Port Charlotte, FL to meet with Eric Stockley who is also a member of Peace River Riders and the Port Charlotte chapter of SCOR, of which I am a member of in Whittier, CA.  Eric is also a member of SCOR in Caifornia.  We will be staying with Eric and his wife, Melodi during our visit here.

  On our way to Eric’s home we crossed over the Peace River which flows into the Gulf of Mexico.  I have now cycled 64 miles and we arrive at the home of Eric and Melodi.  We visit for awhile in their lovely and cool home.  During our conversation, we asked about hurricanes in the area.  They said there have not really been any this year, but then started recollecting the hurrines of 2004 which destroyed Port Charlotte.  Later in the evening we drove out to meet some other cyclists to do an evening ride at 6:00PM.  Eight riders showed up including one new rider.  The riders are, from left to right, starting with Eric’s wife, Melodi, Cindy, Scot, Diane, Me, John, Eric, Ed, and Tom.  Being as there was a mixture of experienced and beginning riders, the group was split into 2 groups, both beginning and ending at the same location.  I don’t know how far the beginning riders rode, but the group I rode with went 10 miles, making my total cycling mileage for the day 74 miles.  At the end of the ride we all met for dinner and conversation as we watched a beautiful sunset from our dining area.  Remember that this ride is to raise money and awareness for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You may donate by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress

Leave a Reply

