Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, August 27th:  We woke this morning to the sights and sounds of morning rain.  By 8:30 the rain had stopped and it looked like a good time to start my bike ride.  The road today is not much different than it has been.  I started off on Hwy 19 and 98 and was soon joined by Hwy 27.  There are quite a few egrets along side the road.  I got a picture of this one as he was flying away.  There were also some wild hogs on the side of the road.  It seems they had found something to eat .  I took the one picture and they all scampered back into the forest.  There are quite a few waterways that pass underneath the road.  Hovering over one waterway I notice a spider patiently waiting his next meal.

  I see Judy parked on the side of the road just ahead.  It has just started to rain and she is parked by a building with billboards advertising frog jam and moonshine jelly.  We really had to check this out!  Frog jam is not really made of frogs.  The ingredients are Figs, Raspberries, Oranges, & Ginger.  The first letter of each ingredient spells FROG.  Moonshine jelly is not made with moonshine, but it does have wine in it.  We bought a jar of each and thought they were both delicious.  It looks like the rain might be going away so I get ready to ride again.  I notice that my rear tire is low on air.  Sure enough, I have a flat tire.  As I am fixing my flat the rain is starting again.  Judy and I decide that someone is trying to tell us something.  It is now 5:00PM and I have cycled 86 miles.  We are about 1/2 way between Perry and Tallahassee, FL and have about 30 miles to go to our next scheduled stop.  We decide to skip riding in the rain and Judy drives me the rest of the way to a Walmart in Tallahassee.  The rain never did stop during the entire drive.  I have now cycled 22 weeks and have cycled 337 miles this week.  My total cycling mileage is now 7,793 miles and I have raised about $1,800 to help fight Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy   http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

