Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Saturday, August 28th:  There is a light rain this morning.  Judy is not sure how to get out to the road we want to travel today.  We are currently at a Walmart on Hwy 27 in Tallahassee, FL and decide to drive to another Walmart, also in Tallahassee on Hwy 90, which we will continue on for the next few days.   By the time we get there it is 9:30AM and is still drizzling a little bit.  I put on a light jacket and start my ride on Hwy 90.  I will be going farther than Quincy, but not quite as far as Pensacola.  Quincy is the birthplace of Dexter Jackson who was the MVP in Super Bowl XXXVII for Tampa Bay Buccanneers.  There are a few more hills today than there has been.  That is a good thing.  For every uphill, there has to be a downhill.  Some of my ride will be on city streets and others on country roads.  I never saw a sign before that warned you about the sun being blinding.  Good thing it is in the morning and the sun is behind me as I am heading west.  We stop for lunch in Chattahoochie, FL  at Hardee’s, which is the same as Carl’s Jr in California.

  A couple of miles later I cross the Apalachicola River in Jackson County.  We are now in Central Time Zone and gain an extra hour as we set our clocks back an hour.  As I cross the river I take a picture, first from the north side of the bridge and then the south side of the bridge.  As I continue my ride, Judy is waiting for me just before the town of Caryville, FL.  According to the sign, Caryville is the Worm Fiddlin’ Capital of the World.  I spoke with a local couple about Worm Fiddlin’ and they told me that you place a stave in the ground and cause it to vibrate by rubbing it with a brick or using a saw.  I looked it up and all this is true.  Some people stick a pitchfork in the ground and twang the handle.  Any of these and other techniques will cause the worms to come up out of the ground.  Caryville has their annual festival in early May.  After cycling 120 miles, I again arrive at Walmart, this time in De Funiak, FL.  This ride is being done to raise money and awareness in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy http://www.jacobsonexpress

Leave a Reply

