Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Sunday, August 29th:  We had some rain last night, but this morning looks nice and I am hoping to get a lot of cycling mileage today.  My ride continues on Hwy 90 with a lot of scenic roads and some city streets.

  About 35 miles into my ride it starts to rain so I give Judy a call.  She is right behind me and finds a spot just up the road to park the motorhome.  I grab a snack and put on my rain clothes.  Jacket, pants and shoe covers.  As I get ready to leave it looks as if it is clearing up.  I leave my rain gear on and good thing… less than a mile up the road it starts to rain again.  This time the rain doesn’t stop.  Another 30 miles down the road and I get a flat tire.  Judy is about 5 miles behind me this time.  She says I should get in and just drive the rest of the way in for the day.  I finish fixing my flat tire and the rain has slowed down.  I decide that I am already drenched, so I might as well continue the ride.  When I meet with Judy at Walmart in Pensacola, FL, I have cycled 77 miles, 39 of them in the rain.  As I remove my rain gear, everything I have on, including my socks, is totally soaked.  So much for rain gear keeping you dry!  At least the dirt and grime from the road is on the outside of my rain clothes.  Remember that this ride is being done to raise money and awareness in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  On this note, I received an email from a cyclist that I ride with in California.  His email, in it’s entirety, is printed below:

Hello everyone,

I’ve been following Wes’ blog from day 1 and am constantly impressed and in awe of his adventure, and with his entertaining way of sharing it with us. It is especially meaningful that through this adventure he is raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. His goal is $1 per mile and he is estimating that he will ride 10,000 miles for this cause.

I have been trying to think of a way that I could support Wes and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, but just as importantly, of a way to encourage more of his followers to support him in some small way in this worthwhile effort. If each of us regular followers make a small contribution, say $25 to $50 each, it wouldn’t take very many of us to help Wes reach his goal of $10,000. With this goal in mind, I have decided to contribute up to $1000 by matching dollar-for-dollar every contribution made during the month of September. If only 20 of you contributed $50 each and including my $1000 contribution, that would raise $2000 very quickly. If more of us also agreed to match other contributions, in any maximum amount, then this fundraising drive could far exceed the $10,000 that Wes is shooting for.

Please take a moment to think about what each of us can do to support Wes and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, and let him know by our matching contributions that his effort is appreciated and encouraged.

As Wes likes to say: “Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time”

Larry Stern

If you would like to ensure your donation gets matched by Larry, type the words “Matching Funds” where it asks you to send a message to me at the top of the donation form for Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  I will make sure Larry gets informed of your donation so he can match your funds.  I will also work with any one else in the same manner who wishes to match funds as Larry is doing.  Every dollar received is greatly appreciated and will help to fight Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

