Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Monday, August 30th:  Looks like a good day to cycle today.  Started my bike ride at 7:30 this morning.  After 11 miles of cycling I am crossing into the state of Alabama.  At this point I have also ridden 8,000 miles since the beginning of my ride.  One of the first businesses I see is Uncle Bubba’s Country Market.  What would Alabama be without Uncle Bubba’s?  I am now on North Highway 59 in Loxley, AL.  There is a fruit stand on the side of the road and I stop in for a rest.  Kelly was working there today and after hearing about my ride offered me some water, a banana and an Alabama peach.  While I was there a reporter from WALA Channel 10 News in Mobile came by for an interview.  He gave me a very good interview and I should be on the news tonight.  At Highway 31 I headed South toward the bridge crossing the Gulf.  Shortly after arrriving in Spanish Fork, AL, it started to sprinkle.  A few minutes later it was getting heavier.  I looked for a place to duck for cover.  I saw a church and dove for cover just as someone started dumping buckets of water from the sky.  You can see the rain coming down and splashing on the roads and the rain drops bouncing off the asphalt in the parking lot.  I have cycled 48 miles.  I called Judy and she was still 28 miles behind me.  I waited for her to show up, and after 45 minutes she was there and the rain was still coming down as hard as ever.

  We fixed ourselves something to eat, hoping the rain would slow down.  The rain is deciding to stick around.  I had enough riding in the rain yesterday, so we decided NOT to stick around.  I put my bike in the motorhome and we took the Interstate 10 over the Gulf.  The bridge over the gulf was 7 or 8 miles long!  After we finished crossing the bridge and were entering Mobile, we had to drive through a long tunnel.  We continued driving through Mobile and headed toward Highway 45 looking for a place to wait out the storm.  During the heaviest portion of our downpour, the windshield wiper on the right side decided to flop over to the side and stop working.  We pulled off the side of the road and I tried to fix it in the rain, but it wouldn’t cooperate.  I’ll have to wait until the rain stops to see if I can get it working again before the next rain.  It wasn’t until we arrived in Citronelle, AL, that we found a shopping center big enough to park till the morning.  We had pizza at the Pizza Pro which had a very good pizza and friendly people working there.  I am hoping for the rain to lighten up tomorrow so I can get some dry miles.  I am cycling to raise money and awareness to help fight Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Every dollar raised helps to fight this disease.  You may donate to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September, donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society will be matched by Larry Stern, a fellow cyclist, up to a maximum of $1,000.  A copy of his letter to me appears at the end of this post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy     http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Hello everyone,

I’ve been following Wes’ blog from the day he started. I am constantly impressed and in awe of his adventure and with his entertaining way of sharing it with us. It is especially meaningful that, through this adventure, he is raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. His goal is $1 per mile and he is estimating that he will ride 10,000 miles for this cause. Without any publicity budget, he is relying on his pedal power and the kindness of those who meet him on the road or follow along on his blog to help him meet this goal.

I have been trying to think of a way that I could give greater support to Wes and his admirable cause and, at the same time, encourage more of his followers to do the same. If each of us, as regular followers of his blog, makes a small contribution – $25 to $50 – it would go a long way toward helping Wes reach his goal of $10,000.

With this idea in mind, I have decided to contribute up to $1000 by matching dollar-for-dollar every contribution made during the month of September. A $50 contribution from each of you added to my $1000 contribution would raise $2000. If more of us also agreed to match other contributions, in any maximum amount, then this fundraising drive could really succeed and Wes’ amazing effort will be rewarded.

Please take a moment to think about what you can do to support Wes and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Please let him know by our matching contributions that his effort is appreciated and encouraged.

As Wes likes to say: “Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time”

Larry Stern

Leave a Reply

