Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Sunday, September 5th:  On Saturday morning I left the RV Park and started my ride.  In a few short miles I arrived at North LA Hwy 1.  The sign says that this is the end of City Maintenance for the road, but the roads had a nice shoulder and were actually pretty decent to ride on.  There are still quite a few creeks crossing under the highway every so many miles.  I saw a turnoff to an Alligator Park.  I thought the bus was more interesting than any alligators I might see, so I took a picture of the bus and continued to ride.  Further on down the road I passed what looked to me like a large oil derrick.  I found out later that it was actually a drilling rig that they use to break through the shale rock to get natural gas.  The recent discovery of this natural gas has created a boom in the economy for the area.  Eventually West Hwy 84 joins Hwy 1 until, after a few more miles Hwy 1 and Hwy 84 split and I continue on the West Hwy 84.  The area I am in now is considered the foothills of the Ozarks.  It is about as close to the Ozarks as I will get.  I arrive in Mansfield, LA and continue on Hwy 175 until, after 59 miles of cycling, I arrive at the home of my mom’s cousin, Patti Calvert.  There was a lot of her family there this weekend.  in the picture from left to right is my wife Judy, me, Patti’s daughter Robin, her son David (Bubba), Brenda (David’s wife), Patti, and Patti’s 2 sons, John and David.  We had a great time visiting and talking about old times.  Later in the evening some of us enjoyed a game of bridge while others watched college football between LSU and North Carolina.

  This morning we spent a little more time visiting before resuming our journey.  Took Hwy 175 back to  West Hwy 84.  At the corner was a liquor store Judy wanted a picture of.  You can go inside to buy your alcohol, or you can just go in the drive-thru and pick it up at the window.  As I was crossing a bridge, I saw something moving down below.  I discovered it was wild pigs, a sow and a bunch of little piglets.  As I came to a stop and got my camera out, mama and some of the babies ran into the brush.  There were a few little babies so busy digging for roots or grub that they just never saw me.  I took these two photos before they too, disappeared.  I saw a cowboy on his horse on the second story of a building.  I thought this might be Texas, but it is in Longsport, LA, the last town before Texas.  Not too much further, and I arrive in Texas.  This is only my first day in Texas and I am already seeing oil derricks and cattle.  The roads in Texas are still pretty good and most of them have a wide shoulder to ride on.  After 85 miles of cycling I arrive Walmart in Longview, Texas.  These two days of riding, together total 144 miles.  My goal is to cycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donations count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer at the end of my blog in Friday’s Post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

