Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Monday, September 6th:  Hope everyhone had a great Labor Day.  I started my day cycling the beautiful roads of Texas.  I stopped for a snack with Judy at about mile 36.  Less than a mile up the road I had 2 large dogs coming out to the road to greet me.  They did not seem friendly.  I immediately crossed to the other side of the road and headed back in the direction I came from.  I gave Judy a call so she could pick me up and give me a ride past the dogs.  Once we were past the dogs, I got back on my bike and continued to ride.  Further up the road I saw 2 more dogs.  At first they didn’t notice me then all of a sudden came the charge.  One of the dogs came towards me in a full sprint.  I was already going a pretty good speed, but when the dog started coming I kicked it into gear and kept yelling at him to “Get Back!”  I could see him still coming in my rear view mirror.  I moved into the left lane and a pick-up truck behind me honked and had to drive onto the grass median to avoid hitting me.  I really love dogs, but I have been barked at and chased by too many.  The owners need to keep their dogs secured so that they don’t chase after cyclists.  There have been quite a few rest stops along the highway.  The ones we have seen are called “Picnic Areas”.  There are a lot of trees, tables and benches and trash cans.  No water or restrooms.  We took advantage of one of the picnic areas.

  Shortly after Judy left the picnic area she saw an accident that had just happened.  She later told me she knew I had already been past that area and it wouldn’t be me.  It was a pick-up truck and motorcycle.  The emergency vehicles were already there so Judy kept driving.  I had seen the emergency vehicles heading back from where I was and was glad to see Judy pass me, assuring me that she wasn’t involved in an accident.  After passing me, she was waiting for me in Greenville, TX just before the Interstate 30.  We are supposed to be going to Walmart, but the map and the GPS disagree on how to get there.  I have now cycled 99 miles and we decide to put the bike in the motorhome and search for the Walmart together.  It took a little doing, with some back-tracking before we finally got there.  Now we can rest up for another day of cycling tomorrow.  My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

