Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Friday, September 10th:  Started my ride about 7:30 this morning.  Thank goodness the rain has finally stopped!  Judy gave me a head start and we arrived at the Walmart in Sherman, TX at about the same time.  Her son Frank and his wife Laurie, both had appointments in Sherman this morning and we were able to visit with Frank before continuing the ride.  Judy visited a little longer with Frank after I left.  Most of the ride was on West Hwy 82.  The sign warned of rough roads ahead, but neither Judy nor I thought they were all that bad.

  The last 35 – 40 miles were on South Hwy 51, which actually heads south-west for this part of the ride.  Once on Hwy 51 I was greeted with quite a few rolling hills and a stiff headwind.  There are still some trees along the highway, but there is a lot more open space also.  I suspect that as we continue west we will be seeing a lot less trees and a lot more open space.  I had 3 dogs come out to meet me again today.  I saw them first and decided that today I would not run.  Instead, I went to the other side of the road and got off my bike.  They came to the edge of the road, but never actually got on the highway.  They just kept barking as I kept yelling and walking.  When I finally got a little ways past their property, they stopped barking and went back home.  Today our ride ended with 84 miles at Walmart in Decatur, TX.  This is the 24th week of cycling around the United States for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  This week I have cycled 327 miles giving me a 24 week cycling total of 8,708 miles and in the process have received about $2,300 in donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

I am riding my bicycle 10,000 miles around the United States with the goal of raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donations count twice as much.  A friend and fellow cyclist, Larry Stern, has offered to match funds for donations received during the month of September.  You can find a copy of his email with details of his offer at the end of this post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Hello everyone,

I’ve been following Wes’ blog from the day he started. I am constantly impressed and in awe of his adventure and with his entertaining way of sharing it with us. It is especially meaningful that, through this adventure, he is raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. His goal is $1 per mile and he is estimating that he will ride 10,000 miles for this cause. Without any publicity budget, he is relying on his pedal power and the kindness of those who meet him on the road or follow along on his blog to help him meet this goal.

I have been trying to think of a way that I could give greater support to Wes and his admirable cause and, at the same time, encourage more of his followers to do the same. If each of us, as regular followers of his blog, makes a small contribution – $25 to $50 – it would go a long way toward helping Wes reach his goal of $10,000.

With this idea in mind, I have decided to contribute up to $1000 by matching dollar-for-dollar every contribution made during the month of September. A $50 contribution from each of you added to my $1000 contribution would raise $2000. If more of us also agreed to match other contributions, in any maximum amount, then this fundraising drive could really succeed and Wes’ amazing effort will be rewarded.

Please take a moment to think about what you can do to support Wes and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Please let him know by our matching contributions that his effort is appreciated and encouraged.

As Wes likes to say: “Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time”

Larry Stern

Leave a Reply

