Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Monday, September 13th:  Continuing my ride this beautiful morning on West US Hwy 380.  As I was entering the town of Newcastle, TX, I must have stopped paying attention to where I was going and missed my turn by 3 miles before I realized it and had to make a U-turn.  While I was going the wrong way I saw some cows giving me “the look”.  They must have known I was on the wrong road before I did.  Most of the roads (not counting my wrong turn) were very nice.

  I saw a sign for Throckmorton Airport.  All I could see was a small landing strip and a few buildings in the distance.  Just past the airport, I caught up with Judy and she was parked along side of the road talking with a man who was chopping up firewood.  His name was Barry and he had worked up a sweat.  We both chatted with him for awhile, then I had my PB & J and continued my ride.  There are a lot of cacti along the side of the road that look as if they are ready to bloom.  I hope I get to see it before my ride ends.  After 80 miles of cycling I arrive in Haskell, TX.  I notice a small building that was closed down.  I stopped into Hargrove Crop Insurance next door and asked if they thought it would be ok to park there.  I was told that she didn’t know about that building, but that we could park in their parking lot.  It’s not a Walmart, but it IS a nice place to park for the night. 

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

