Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, September 14th:  I got started a little earlier today.  I resumed cycling across US Hwy 380.  The roads are still pretty nice.  Just a little bumpy somtimes.  The scenery is definitely starting to change.  Not quite as many trees and a lot more open space.  Crossed over the Brazos River.  I also crossed over the Salt Fork of Brazos River twice.  There is a lot of red soil in the area and it makes a lot of the water I have seen also very red.  Judy says it looks a like thick Tabasco Sauce.  There are a lot of sunflowers all along the road.  Usually when I think of sunflowers, I think of Kansas.  Judy just called them Texas wild flowers and said I should take pictures of them.

  I continue  along the highway until someone in a pickup truck flags me down.  I go over to talk with him.  His name is Dolf Bowman of Kent County, and he owns a ranch a few miles down the road.  He asks me where I am going.  After telling him about my ride, where I’ve been and where I’m going, he gives me a cash donation for Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  He is about the same age as I am and has always wanted to do something like this.  He is glad to know that people our age can still get it done.  He warns me about rattlesnakes in the area and I continue my ride.  As I pass his ranch I take a picture of his entrance gate.  A few more miles down the road and Judy is waiting for me at what will be my last rest stop for the day.  She is parked in a driveway of an entrance to another ranch.  In a short while we see a truck coming through the gate and I get out to move my bike so Judy can get the motorhome out of the way.  They tell me that we are okay and they can get around us just fine.  Their names are David and Billie, and they ask about my bike ride.  I tell my story about my bike ride again, and they also give me a cash donation to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  They warned us to watch out for wild pigs and deer on the road after dark.   Both donations are being submitted today so that they can benefit from the matching funds being offered during the month of September.  I am only about 20 miles from my destination and continue cycling until, after 110 miles, I arrive in Post, Texas where, after filling up with gas at a Stripes gas station, we park in their truck parking area for the night.    

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

