Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Wednesday, September 15th:  This morning I again continue my ride on West US Highway 380.  The roads are still very nice.  Today they are a lot smoother and although they look fairly flat  the road is a gradual uphill climb.  There is a slight cross-headwind, but just enough to keep me cool.  The last few days I have seen miles and miles of cotton fields.  As I cycle past my first 28 miles today, I see a long stretch of road ahead of me.  At this point I have just completed 9,000 miles of my 10,000 mile goal.

  A few more miles and I see a milepost marker.  It says I have 22 miles before I get to Brownfield and 54 miles to Plains, Texas.  I am thinking about now that I would like to make it to Plains today.  I passed by a grove of Pecan Trees.  It is the only one I have seen so far, but they have a lot of trees.  Then I noticed a green worm inching his way across the highway.  He reminded me of a tomato worm, but I have not seen any tomato plants.  Maybe he is a cotton worm?  Before long I was passing a vinyard.  I do not know what kind of grapes they are growing, but it also is the only vinyard I have seen in Texas.  As I enter Brownfield, I see a sign warning of ducks and geese crossing the road.  The ducks and geese must be inside out of the heat.  Judy called me and said she is just ahead and that she saw a sign advertising free RV parking.  She wanted me to look for the sign and get all the details.  When I saw the sign, it looked like a good deal, so after 52 miles of cycling I caught up with Judy and we drove into town looking for the RV park.  It is Coleman RV Park, sponsored by the Brownfield Chamber of Commerce and has electricity and water hook-ups.  Everything is free, but they do have a donation box on site where you can donate what you think your stay is worth.  Tonight Judy can enjoy her air-conditioning without having to run the generator. 

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

