Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Thursday, September 16th:  This morning we break camp and I continue my ride across West US Highway 380.  The road is still very nice with a lot of long stretches.  It is also a lot cooler than it has been in quite a while.  I continue to see many cotton fields for the rest of the time I am in Texas.  Almost all of the cotton fields had at least one oil well on them.  As I leave Texas I can see the sign ‘Welcome to Texas’ and ‘Entering Central Time Zone” on the other side of the highway.  There is, however, no sign welcoming me to New Mexico nor letting me know that I am entering Mountain Time Zone.  The first sign I see says Tatum, NM is 15 miles and Roswell is 87 miles.  Our plan today was to go as far as Tatum, about 65 miles.  Just before arriving in Tatum, I found a place to park and called Judy.  When she arrived we reset our watches and checked out the map.  The wind looked like it was in my favor and it was still early enough so I thought I would head out and see how far I could get.  As I entered the Town of Tatum I noticed the elevation was 4100 feet.  I’ll try to keep track of elevation changes  as my ride progresses.  Tatum does a lot of metal craft that is used for signage and decorative purposes.  As I approach Caprock, NM I am starting to see dark clouds and lightning off in the distance/  This is also where the Pecos River Watershed begins, which flows to the Rio Grande.  Judy is now passing me and the rain is starting to get heavier.  Just in time . . . There is a rest stop just ahead and she has pulled in.  After 96 miles of cycling I pull into the rest stop and join up with her just on the other side of Caprock, NM.  We are approximately 40 miles east of Roswell, NM.  Tomorrow we check out the Aliens.

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

