Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Saturday, September 18th:  Once the aliens released me after my abduction, I left Roswell, NM and continued on West US Highway 380 which is now also US Highway 70.  Once I leave the city I am on some nice rolling hills.  The sky is clear and not a cloud in sight.  I start climbing some steeper winding roads that cut through the hills.  And of course, from time to time I am rewarded with some nice downhill rides.  There are some real adobe brick houses along the side of the road.  This one looks as if it has been abandoned.  Then I see this “S” shaped arrow.  Judy doesn’t like to see this sign.  I asked her later and she said it actually wasn’t all that bad this time.  In some areas there are some hills on the side of the road that remind me of rocky dunes.  Of course, there is always time for sex on the road.  This must be the “locust position”.  Found another cactus in bloom.  It has nice small yellow flowers at the end of the stems.  They warned of high activity deer crossing, but I never saw one deer today.  Eventually Highway 380 will turn off to the right and I will now continue on West US Highway 70.

  On the side of the mountains next to the highway, the cacti is growing right out from the rocks.  I guess cacti can grow just about anywhere.  Judy noticed an iris farm and a berry farm in the valley below the road and roadside fruit stands along the highway.  In this area, Highway 70 is also know as the New Mexico and Billy the Kid Scenic Byway.  I will never understand why they insist on glorifying the bad guy.  There are a lot more winding and rolling hills.  I am starting to see clouds on the horizon but I never catch up with them.  The roads must be going up more than going down, because I am now at 6,000 feet elevation.  Before long I am entering Ruidoso Downs, NM and the elevation is now 6,400 feet.  Ruidoso Downs is having a major motorcycle rally this weekend, very similar to Sturgis, SD, only much tamer.  On the left side of the road I see a Walmart that we didn’t know about, so I call Judy and let her know.  I have now cycled 75 miles and we decide that this is where we will end our ride for today.

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

