Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Sunday, September 19th:  This morning it was very cold.  I put on an extra shirt to break the chill.  My ride continues on West US Highway 70 and is a continuous climb for 10 miles.  The highway in this area is also known as Mescalero Apache Veterans Highway.  I am surprised that at this elevation in the desert there are so many trees in the area.  There is a sign warning of falling rock, but the hillside is pretty far from the road and it doesn’t really look like much of a threat.  There are also caribou warning signs.  Didn’t see any caribou.  When I reach the top the elevation is 7,865 feet.  Now comes the reward.  Over 20 miles of a beautiful downhill ride.  In front of me are some motorcyclists riding downhill toward the white sands at the base of the mountains ahead.  Arrived at McGinn’s Pistachio Tree Ranch and Arena Blanca Winery.  It is the home of the worlds largest pistachio.  They grow their own pistachios and also grow a variety of grapes which they use to make their own wines.  We bought some pistachio brittle, prickly pear pretzels, and scorpion suckers.  Jeanette was helping us with our purchase and gave us some pistachios to take with us.

  A few miles later I noticed a small snake on the road.  I looked close, but didn’t see any rattles so I figured I was safe.  I took a couple of pictures and went on my way.  I showed the picture to Judy later and she said that it was a baby diamond back rattlesnake.  I told her I didn’t see any rattles and she informed me that young rattlesnakes don’t get their rattles until they get a little older.  I am starting to notice hills on the side of the highway.  There is also a lot of white sand in the area.  I put some white sand in a baggy to give to Judy when she catches up with me.  There is a sign indicating that this is the Old West Country Trails.  The Rocky Mountains are getting closer all the time.  I now see a sign saying that this is also the Bataan Memorial Highway 70.  I guess one highway can have many different names.  Another cactus with 2 large stalks attracts my attention.  Who says the desert is boring?  I am now entereing the White Sands Missle  Range area and a few miles later there is a display of a missle on the side of the road.  I have been going uphill again for quite some time.  I arrive at San Augustin Pass and the elevation is now 5,719 feet.  I am again rewarded with another downhill ride, this time it is a faster ride and takes me all the way into Las Cruces, New Mexico.  After 112 miles Judy is waiting for me at a closed restaurant.  I join Judy in the motorhome and we drive the last few miles to a Sam’s parking lot.  We are met there by Mary Prather, who is married to Jim Prather, a high school classmate of Judy.  We visited with her at her nice home and had dinner at Cracker Barrel.  After dinner we relaxed in her home and continued to enjoy each other’s company.  Tomorrow morning we will continue our journey.

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

One Response to “Hello Fans, Friends and Family”

  1. TheoGretzinger Says:

    Download magazines daily
    I am full of admiration and positive feelings. Very nice, clean and pleasant. All the best for the author.

Leave a Reply

