Hellow Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, September 21st:  Today I started my ride cycling through the town of Deming, NM continuing onto the West Interstate 10.  There is a train track along side the interstate that will follow the same path most of the day.  There were quite a few trains traveling in both directions.  I crossed over the Continental Divide.  The elevation here is 4,585 feet.  I have seen many yucca plants all day.  I will probably see a lot more.

  They are warning of dust storms again.  I don’t really expect to see any though.  On the side of the road there is a lot of water  It is on both sides of the road and lasts for about a mile.  I got a nice view going up the hill and over the pass.  Enjoying the view of the hills on the roadside.  Soon I come to the state line.  I take a picture of the Welcome to New Mexico sign because I didn’t see one when I entered the state. There is, however, a Welcome to Arizona sign.  They don’t change their clocks for daylight savings time in Arizona, so as I cross the border I am now in the same time zone as California.  I go just a little farther and notice I have a flat tire.  It is also starting to sprinkle, but it’s not such a big deal.  This is my 18th flat and as I am taking the tire off I notice the tire is getting pretty worn out.  The tire is now fixed and I continue on my way.  The sun is shining through the clouds and soon the sprinkles become rain.  Just then a sign appears that says “Rest Area 1 Mile”.  I guess I was supposed to get the flat tire to slow me down so I wouldn’t pass the rest area before the rain.  I pull into the rest area and call Judy to let her know where I am.  I have now cycled 89 miles and we decide that we will stay here for the night.

My goal is to bicycle at least 10,000 miles around the United States, raising $1.00 per mile to help in the fight against Leukemia and Lymphoma.  Donations may be made by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  During the month of September you can have your donation count twice as much.  My friend, Larry Stern, has offered to match donations made to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  You can see a copy of his offer with details, at the end of my blog in Friday’s post.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . . Wes & Judy    http://www.jacobsonexpress.com

Leave a Reply

