Hello Fans, Friends and Family

Tuesday, December 7th:  I started today’s ride in Yuma, AZ.  In a few short miles I crossed the Colorado River and entered my home state of California.  My ride continued on the Interstate 8 until I came to a sign that said all bicycles must exit.  I saw a Highway Patrolman and he said I would be on the frontage road until the next overpass and then get back on the Interstate.  I was not too impressed with the condition of the frontage road.  The cracks in the asphalt made it very difficult to ride.

  Back on the Interstate and later on down the road was another sign saying bicycles must exit.  This time I decided to stay on the Interstate.  My only concern was that just up the road was a Border Patrol Checkpoint.  They didn’t seem to mind that I was on the Interstate.  They just asked if I needed some water.  I waited for Judy at a rest stop and had a snack when she arrived.  I continued on down the Interstate another 12 miles and took the Highway 98 exit.  There were quite a few palm trees and some dead bushes that Judy said were turning color and were actually gold.  They had a lot of farm areas.  The one pictured here is a lettuce field.  After 77 miles of cycling it was time for me to call it quits for the day.  I have some sores on my backend from the last 2 days of riding which made today’s ride somewhat unbearable.  Judy and I discussed it and decided to drive to Oceanside, CA and finish the ride to Seal Beach, CA from there, which will make us reach the 10,000 mile goal we were hoping for.  You can still help me reach my $10,000 goal for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society by visiting http://www.gsf.lls.llsevent.org/JACOBSONEXPRESS.  Until next time . . . Saving Lives One Mile at a Time . . .Wes & Judy     http://www.jacobsonexpress.com.

Leave a Reply

