Mountain Springs Summit by wildwes49 at Garmin Connect – Details

Sunday, April 10th, 2011:  It is a cool morning.  I started my ride heading south on Highway 160.  My goal is to make it the Mountain Springs Summit.  It should be about a 75 mile round trip ride.  There is a light tailwind that will help me make it to the top.  That means that on the way back, even though I have some good down hills, I will have to face a headwind all the way home.  I made it to the top around 12:30.  As I headed back down hill, my Garmin computer started acting up.  By the time I got it working right I had lost over 3 miles in actual mileage.  The ride was exactly the same distance both ways.  On the way up I had 37.48 miles.  If you double that, my mileage should be 74.96.  At the end of my ride Garmin showed that I only rode 71.76 miles.  That is a difference of 3.2 miles.  I made it home before 3:00 PM, and despite the headwinds, by the time I got home I still felt pretty good.  It was great to get out and actually ride some miles.  I only wished there was more variety of interesting places to ride around here.  You can view the details from my garmin by clicking on the link below.  I also have a couple of pics showing the elevation in Pahrump and the elevation at the summit.  I actually started lower that the elevation shown for Pahrump.

Mountain Springs Summit by wildwes49 at Garmin Connect – Details.

Leave a Reply

