Hello, Fans, Friends and Family

Saturday, April 16th, 2011:  This is day 16 of my 30 day challenge to ride everyday during the month of April.  Today I decided I would take an extra long ride.  I have a friend who is running in the Baker to Las Vegas Run and I thought I might want to meet up with him on his run.  He is supposed to be running from the Nevada border into Pahrump on Highway 372.  I am guessing his portion of the ride will start around 6:00 PM.  I started my ride heading north on Highway 160 toward Interstate 95.  I then headed west to Amargosa Valley where I then headed south on Highway 373.  I crossed into California where the highway is now Highway 127.  At mile 63 I arrived in Amargosa, where I stopped for lunch and had a philly cheese steak sandwich and coleslaw.  After lunch I continued south until I arrived in Shoshone.  My ride now continues east on Highway 178 until, after 96 miles I get a flat tire.  After I have my flat tire fixed, I continue east until I enter back into Nevada.  It is not very long after that when I arrive at the station where my friend will be starting his run.  After asking and looking around for him, I finally find him.  His relay partner is only a few miles from this point so I decide to hang around to watch him do his run.  I took a few pictures of him, getting ready to run and actually doing the run.  I passed him a few times during his run, giving him encouragement as he ran.  After his run I congratulated him and continued my ride home.  By the time I got home my actual mileage was 123.4 miles in 8 hrs, 42 min, 34 secs.  My Garmin shows a different mileage because at one point after stopping I forgot to restart it for a few miles.  Oh, well.  I guess that is why I have a back-up computer on my bike.  To view the details of my ride you can click on the link below.  Below the link are some pictures of my friend doing his run. 

Pahrump/Amargosa Vly/Shoshone/Pahrump by wildwes49 at Garmin Connect – Details.

Leave a Reply

