Santa Monica Pier to meet “Chuck Walking”

Sunday, 12 June 2011:  Started my ride in Torrance and rode down to Hermosa Beach, following the coastline unitl I got to the Santa Monica Pier.  I then rode to Douglas Park where I met “Chuck Walking”.  From there he is walking the last 2 1/2 miles to the pier to finish a 3200+ mile walk from Washington DC.  His walk is to raise money and awareness for ALS.  I first met Chuck last summer while cycling through Illinois.  He gave me some good information on the roads that lay ahead.  I have been following his Face Book group ever since.  He is a real inspiration.  I walked along with him to the finish line at the Santa Monica Pier and after a little bit of socializing, I got on my bike and returned to my start point in Torrance.  You can view the details of today’s ride by clicking on the link below.  Just remember that about 2 1/2 miles of today’s ride were at a walking pace which will be reflected in my stats:

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/91976416

Leave a Reply

