OLD SPANISH TRAIL to TECOPA & SHOSHONE by wildwes49

NOVEMBER 2, 2012

    Hello again to all my Fans, Friends and Family.  It has been almost a year since my last post. My wife suggested to me that I should use my post to allow all of you to follow my bicycle adventures again.  My posts will include all of my club rides, rides with friends, and also my solo rides.  Please feel free to follow any or all of the rides that I post.  Along wih my narrative, I will include any pictures that I take and also a link at the end of my post where you can click on a link to view my bike route via GARMIN Satellite which will include data such as Speed, Distance, Elevation, Temperature, etc.  It will also have a graph of my Speed, Elevation & Temperature to give you a visual perspective of my ride. 

Starting at the North end of Pahrump, NV, I began my ride south on Blagg Rd for about 5 miles, then southwest on Hwy 160 for another 17 miles where I turned right on Tecopa Rd. In about 5 miles there is historical landmark giving the history of the Old Spanish Trail. Shortly afterwards, I passed a large Tarantula. The only unusual wildlife I will see today. After 31 miles, I enter Inyo County, CA, and I believe this is where Tecopa Rd official changes to Old Spanish Trail. Another couple of miles and I pass a construction area where they are building a new mission. It will be called St Teresa Mission and is scheduled to be completed in the Fall of 2012. I continue my ride, passing thru Tecopa & Tecopa Hot Springs Resort, before arriving in Shoshone, CA. They are having an Arts & Crafts Show in one area and a couple of large wagons being pulled by 20 mules in the other. I have ridden about 67 miles so far, so I decided to take a little break. I had a small snack, filled my water bottles, and bought some lottery tickets. I then continued the last 32 miles, heading back home to Pahrump, NV. Today’s ride was very interesting with great weather and very little wind.

  Now you can click on the link below and check out all the details of my ride:

OLD SPANISH TRAIL to TECOPA & SHOSHONE by wildwes49 at Garmin Connect – Details.

Leave a Reply

